Coldplay at ‘One Love Manchester’

Recently, Ariana Grande held a benefit concert for the victims of a terrorist attack that happened at her concert in Manchester two weeks prior. The benefit concert was held on June 4, 2017 and all the proceeds went towards the victims and families of the attack. But more than that, it brought everyone together during this scary and horrific time. Some of the other artists that performed in this benefit show were Miley Cyrus, Pharrell Williams, Black Eyed Peas, etc. These artists were very quick to join in the movement after the attack, and it makes my heart warm when I see people coming together in a time that seems to only be falling apart.

I had to highlight one of my favorite bands of all time, because once again they put on a great show. Coldplay has been one of my favorite bands for as long as I can remember and I was first introduced to them through the album X&Y, which is still my favorite of theirs to this day. I think most can agree that Coldplays earlier albums are some of the best in the alternative-rock genre. They had such a unique sound, and although they did get into a more pop genre, they still continue to create albums with a signature style. Right now Coldplay has a total of seven albums that have been released throughout the years. Their most recent album, A Head Full of Dreams, was a step back into their older sound with the use of electric guitar throughout. They became a pop music band for a while there, and once this album came out, I could tell they were trying to get back to their roots.

The performance I really wanted to highlight was their Oasis cover of Don’t Look Back in Anger. It was touching to me that Chris Martin wanted to sing something for Ariana, since she was putting in so much effort for everyone else. What was even better for me, was the fact that most of the audience knew the song. I don’t know why but for some reason whenever bands pay homage to other musicians, it always moves me. For example when Mary J. Blige covered One by U2, and Bono sings on the record?!?!?! Ok anyway, here is the clip from the benefit concert:

What I really like about Chris Martin is his desire to bring everyone together and fully help as much as he can. Even on a personal level, Martin travels around the world to better understand what is going on. Just recently he visited Israel, and posted this tweet,

Now, of course he still got hate for this, but honestly how often do you see this kind of effort through any musician nowadays. On many of Coldplays Live albums you can hear Martin talking to the audience as if it is a personal setting. They are a band that I can truly say, cares about their fans and their craft. They also put on a great show that I highly recommend to everyone. Something unique that they incorporate into all their shows are synchronized wristbands that you wear throughout the show, that change color depending on the song playing. It really gets the audience involved in the show as a whole, which is what I really like about it.

I first found this video through Rolling Stone, and you can read the full article here!

Leave a Reply

